retirement policy 20160123 IMG 022

Retirement Policy Committee 

The purpose and goals of the CFT Retirement Policy Committee are:

  • to monitor the activities of both the California State Teacher Retirement System (CalSTRS) and the Public Employees Retirement System (CalPERS);
  • to offer testimony when appropriate before both the CalSTRS and CalPERS boards as well as before state and federal legislative and regulatory bodies;
  • to monitor the statutes and regulatory policies that govern the CalSTRS and CalPERS;
  • to make recommendations concerning retirement issues to the Executive Council, State Council, and annual convention to keep CFT locals and members informed on matters relating to retirement through articles for CFT publications to present reports to CFT governance bodies.

Committee members

Doug Orr, Chair, San Francisco Community College District Federation of Teachers
Chris Baldwin, Santa Cruz Council of Classified Employees
Kimberly Claytor, Newport-Mesa Federation of Teachers
Bob Coble
, North Monterey County Federation of Teachers
David Doris, Salinas Valley Federation of Teachers
Christy Catherine Figueroa, AFT Guild, San Diego and Grossmont-Cuyamaca CC
Hene Kelly, United Educators of San Francisco
Ruben Naungayan, AFT Guild, San Diego and Grossmont-Cuyamaca CC
Lucy Navarro, Gilroy Federation of Teachers & Paraprofessionals
John Perez, United Teachers Los Angeles
Dennis Smith, Los Rios College Federation of Teachers
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it., Staff Liaison