Palomar-interns-with Huerta-Alvarez

Educators stand behind David Alvarez for mayor of San Diego

Rally February 8 at Mesa College

Community college teachers and other educators are rallying behind David Alvarez in the San Diego mayoral race. The Special Election is February 11.

On Saturday, February 8, at 9 a.m., CFT is co-sponsoring a get-out-the-vote rally at Mesa College, located at 7250 Mesa College Drive. Meet at Parking Lot #1. Activists are encouraged to attend the rally and to participate in the precinct walking that will fallow.

Alvarez established himself as an advocate for working families as a member of the city council. Educators and other union members, along with community allies, have responded enthusiastically to the Alvarez candidacy, calling thousands of voters and walking door to door.

CFT endorses educator Andra Hoffman for state Assembly

Photo of Hoffman pointing to white board and holding a bookCFT is enthusiastically supporting California government teacher Andra Hoffman for the state Assembly in District 45 in the San Fernando Valley. Hoffman’s hands-on classroom experience is needed in the state Legislature.

Hoffman grew up in the assembly district and is a graduate of CSU Northridge. She teaches at Glendale College and previously ran a program there assisting adults to reenter the workforce.

The incumbent, Bob Blumenfield, will assume his seat on the Los Angeles City Council on July 1, 2013. The governor is expected to call a special election in the district in early September. The district includes Calabasas, Canoga Park, Chatsworth, Encino, Northridge, West Hills, Woodland Hills, and part of Los Angeles.

UTLA-backed candidate wins in Los Angeles school board race, overcoming outside big money

utla2March 7, 2013, Los Angeles—Despite an infusion of millions of dollars by wealthy anti-union "reform" ideologues, Steve Zimmer, a former teacher, won reelection to his seat on the LAUSD School Board. Monica Garcia, an incumbent backed by billionaires like Mayor Bloomberg of New York, also won reelection, and a third seat will go to runoff.

AFT president Randi Weingarten hailed the victory of Zimmer. "“Steve Zimmer’s re-election to the Los Angeles Unified School District’s (LAUSD) Board of Education is a victory for the city of Los Angeles and the families whose children attend public schools. Big monied interests – most of whom live far away from Los Angeles and virtually none of whom have children in LAUSD schools – were rebuked by parents, teachers and the community. They saw these efforts for what they were: an attempt to spend millions to elect a candidate who they believe would help them carry out an ideological agenda that has both polarized and failed in cities all across America.


CFT endorses Eric Garcetti for mayor of Los Angeles

GarcettiFebruary 20, 2013—The California Federation of Teachers announced today that it has endorsed the candidacy of Los Angeles Councilman Eric Garcetti for Mayor of Los Angeles.

CFT president Joshua Pechthalt said, “The CFT proudly endorses Councilman Eric Garcetti for Mayor of Los Angeles. Councilman Garcetti has the experience and integrity to provide the guidance needed for Los Angeles. As the next mayor of Los Angeles, Mr. Garcetti will be a positive force bringing together parents, teachers, administrators and the community to help our students and our schools succeed. As a Councilman, Mr. Garcetti has helped bring much needed services to schools in his district and he is committed to doing the same for all the communities of Los Angeles. Councilman Garcetti will be a breath of fresh air in a city faced with serious challenges and in need of thoughtful leadership.”