CFT commaward web

NEW! Download the illustrated winners booklet for the 2017 awards. (pdf, 27pp, 4mb)

Deadline to enter the 2017 Communications Awards: February 3, 2017

The Federation honors excellence and innovation in local union communications each year at the CFT Convention. The contest is a great way to recognize the efforts of union volunteers, leaders, and staffpersons who work hard to convey the union's message. It's also an easy way to acknowledge the commitment your local union has made in making our union a success.

In 2010, CFT changed the competition so that smaller locals and larger locals compete separately in the six basic categories of communications. In those categories, entries from locals with fewer than 500 unit members are judged independent of entries from locals with more than 500 unit members. This is a unique opportunity for many locals. Don't miss it!

How to enter: All entry forms for the CFT Communications Awards are posted here as single-page fillable pdf documents. Download only the forms you need and fill them out electronically in the free software Adobe Reader. (Note: If your browser is set to view pdfs, we suggest that you download the forms first and open them in Adobe Reader. This will ensure that you are able to fill out and save your completed forms.)

Call for Entries: One short page of contest rules and one page of category descriptions.

Contest Entry Form: This form, signed by the local president, must be submitted with your entries.

Category Entry Forms: Each entry must be accompanied by a Category Entry Form. These forms contain brief instructions for submission in each category. 


Web & Social Media
Best Website
Best Use of Social Media

Campaigns & Special projects
Best Bulletin Series
Best Single Effort
Best Public Relations Activity

Best News Writing
Best Feature Writing
Best Editorial or Column

Best Original Art or Photograph
Best Flyer or Poster
Best Use of Graphics

Special Award
Jim Herndon Award

Questions? If you have questions about the awards, email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it., CFT Publications Director.